Blog

Get into the “Spirit” of Vegan Booze!

Did you know that there’s a good chance you’re drinking animal products with your alcohol? Yep! It’s disturbing for vegans and non-vegans alike!

Most of these animal products are used during the “fining process,” which is how alcohol is filtered during brewing. The most common offenders are: Isinglass, carmine, gelatin, egg whites, seashells, honey, milk, casein, and sometimes…brace yourselves folks…actual blood. Wha?!?!

If you want to support brands that don’t utilize animal products, feel free to reference our list of vegan spirits and liquors below.

List Compiled By: Theresa Gavin

TYPE BRAND WEBSITE
Bitters Angostura Aromatic Bitters www.angostura.com
Angostura Orange Bitters www.angostura.com
Fee Brothers Bitters www.feebrothers.com
Scrappys Bitters www.scrappysbitters.com
The Bitter Truth Bitters http://the-bitter-truth.com/
Brandy American Fruits Apple Brandy http://www.wvwinery.com/
American Fruits Pear Brandy http://www.wvwinery.com/
Blue Plum Brandy (Slivovitz) www.clearcreekdistillery.com
Christian Brothers Brandy www.christianbrothersbrandy.com
Corby Brandy http://corby.ca
Coronet Brandy www.heavenhill.com
Fundador Brandy www.beamglobal.com
J. Bavet Brandy www.heavenhill.com
Kirschwasser (Cherry Brandy) www.clearcreekdistillery.com
Korbel Brandy www.korbel.com
Koval Apple Brandy www.koval-distillery.com
Koval Bierbrandy www.koval-distillery.com
Koval Pear Brandy www.koval-distillery.com
Montezuma Apple Brandy www.montezumawinery.com
Cognac Ansac Cognac www.heavenhill.com
Gin Beefeater Gin www.beafeatergin.com
Blavod Blackwood’s Gin www.blavoddrinks.com
Blavod Blackwood’s Vintage Dry Gin www.blavoddrinks.com
Bombay Sapphite Gin www.bombaysapphire.com
Bulldog Gin Company www.bulldoggin.com
Chaska Royal Gin www.heavenhill.com
Death’s Door Gin www.deathsdoorspirits.com
Gordon’s Gin www.gordons-gin.co.uk
Hendrick’s Gin www.hendricksgin.com
Juniper Green Gin www.junipergreen.org
Larious Dry Gin www.beamglobal.com
Plymouth Gin www.plymouthgrin.com
Seagrams Gin www.seagramsginlive.com
Tanqueray Gin www.tanqueray.com
The Bitter Truth Pink Gin www.the-bitter-truth.com
Watershed Gin www.watersheddistillery.com
Liqueur American Fruits Bartlett Pear Liqueur www.wvwinery.com
American Fruits Aged Apple Liqueur www.wvwinery.com
Berentzen Liqueurs www.shopmerwins.com
  Blavod Mickey Finn Liqueurs www.blavoddrinks.com
Blavod Pama Pomegranate Liqueur www.blavoddrinks.com
Blue Curacao www.beamglobal.com
  Chartreuse Liqueurs www.chartreuse.fr
Crème Liqueurs www.castleglenliqueurs.com
Dekuyper Melon Liqueur www.beamglobal.com
Disaronno Hazelnut Liqueur www.disaronno.com
Dumante Pistachio Liqueur www.dumante.com
Dumante Verdenoce www.dumante.com
St-Germain www.stgermai.fr 
Frangelico www.frangelico.com
Galliano Liqueurs www.lucasbols.com
Harlem Kruiden Liqueur www.noletspirits.com
Hpnotiq Liqueur www.heavenhill.com
Koval Coffee Liquer www.koval-distillery.com
Koval Ginger Liqueur www.koval-distillery.com
Koval Jasmine Liquer www.koval-distillery.com
Koval Orange Blossom Liqueur www.koval-distillery.com
Koval Rose Hip Liqueur www.koval-distillery.com
Mathilde Liqueurs www.mathildeliqueur.com
Midori Melon Liqueur www.midori-world.com
PAMA Pomegranate Liqueur www.heavenhill.com
Patron Citronge (Orange Liqueur) www.patronspirits.com
Piccala Coffee Liqueur www.whiterockdistilleries.com
Schmerling’s Chocolate Liqueur www.schmerling.com
TUACA Vanilla Citrus Liqueur www.tuaca.com
TY KU Premium Liqueur www.trytyku.com
Talijancich 1969 Liqueur Tokay www.taliwine.com.au
Talijancich 2007 Pedro Ximenes Liqueur www.taliwine.com.au
Talijancich Julian James Liqueur Shiraz 1980’s Solero www.taliwine.com.au
Talijancich Julian James White Liqueur www.taliwine.com.au
Talijancich Liqueur Shiraz www.taliwine.com.au
Talijancich Liqueur Verdelho www.taliwine.com.au
The Bitter Truth Apricot Liqueur www.the-bitter-truth.com
The Bitter Truth Elderflower Liqueur www.the-bitter-truth.com
The Bitter Truth Violet Liqueur www.the-bitter-truth.com
The Fruit Lab Liqueurs www.modernspiritsgroup.com
Rum Appleton Estate 12 Year Old Rum www.appletonestate.com
Appleton Estate 21 Year Old Rum www.appletonestate.com
Appleton Estate Reserve Rum www.appletonestate.com
Appleton Estate Vix Rum www.appletonestate.com
Barcardi www.barcardi.com
Blavod RedLeg Rum www.blavoddrinks.com
Brinley & Company flavored and spiced rums www.brinleygoldrum.com
Brinley Gold Rum www.brinleygoldrum.com
Bundaberg Rum www.bundabergrum.com.au
Captain Morgan Rum www.captainmorgan.com
Cruzan Rum www.beamglobal.com
Eastside Ginger Rum www.eastsidedistilling.com
Eastside Gold Rum www.eastsidedistilling.com
Eastside Silver Rum www.eastsidedistilling.com
Eastside Coffee Rum www.eastsidedistilling.com
Flor de Caña Rum www.flordecana.com
Gosling’s Export (Bermuda) www.goslingsrum.com
Malibu Rum www.malibu-rum.com
Matusalem Rum www.proxmiospirits.com
Mount Gay Rum www.mountgayrum.com
Old New Orleans Rum www.neworleansrum.com
Pyrat Rum www.patronspirits.com
Sailor Jerry Rum www.sailorjerry.com
Screech Rum www.screechrum.com
Stroh Rum www.stroh-austria.at
The Kraken Black Spiced Rum www.proxmiospirits.com
Tequila 1800 Tequila www.proxmiospirits.com
Azul Tequila www.proxmiospirits.com
Corazon Tequila www.tequilacorazon.com
Don Julio Tequila www.donjulio.com
El Tesoro Tequila www.beamglobal.com
Everglo www.everglo.com
Gran Centenario Tequila www.proxmiospirits.com
Herradura Tequila www.herraduratequila.com
Hornitos Tequila www.hornitostequila.com
Jose Cuervo Tequila www.cuervo.com
Maestro Dobel Tequila www.proxmiospirits.com
Patron Tequila www.patronspirits.com
Republic Tequila www.republictequila.com
Tequila El Jimador www.eljimadortequila.com
Three Olives Tequila www.proxmiospirits.com
Vermouth Dolin Vermouth www.alpenz.com
Quady Vermouth www.quadywinery.com
Vodka 3 Vodka http://3vodka.com
360 Eco Friendly Vodka www.vodka360.com
Absolut Vodka www.absolut.com
Blavod Black Vodka www.blavoddrinks.com
Blavod Diva Vodka www.blavoddrinks.com
Caralicious http://www.fabulousvodka.co.uk
Cold Steel Vodka www.coldsteelvodka.com
Crystal Head Vodka www.crystalheadvodka.com
Cupcake Vodka www.cupcakevodka.com
Cupcake Vodka-Chiffon www.cupcakevodka.com
Cupcake Vodka-Devils Food www.cupcakevodka.com
Cupcake Vodka-Frosting www.cupcakevodka.com
Death’s Door Vodka www.deathsdoorspirits.com
Everglo www.everglo.com
Fabulous Vodka www.fabulousvodka.co.uk
Firefly Vodka www.fireflyvodka.com
Five Wives Vodka www.ogdensown.com
Grey Goose Vodka www.greygoose.com
Hangar One Vodka www.hangarone.com
Hanger 1 Vodka www.proxmiospirits.com
High West Vodka www.highwest.com
Horvath’s Monopolowa Vodka www.horvaths.at
Iceberg Vodka www.icebergvodka.com
Ikon True Russian Vodka www.ikonvodka.com
Jazz Vodka www.stawskidistributing.com
Karlsson’s Vodka www.karlssonsvodka.com
Ketel One Citroen www.ketelone.com
Ketel One Vodka www.ketelone.com
Kleiner Feigling Fig Vodka www.kleinerfeigling.com
Koval Vodka www.koval-distillery.com
McCormick Vodka www.mccormickdistilling.com
Pinnacle Vodka www.whiterockdistilleries.com
Polar Ice Vodka www.corby.ca
Polar Ice Vodka- Arctic Berry www.corby.ca
Polar Ice Vodka- Northern Maple www.corby.ca
Rain Organic Vodka www.rainvodka.com
Rain Vodka (except honey mango) www.rainvodka.com
Reyka Vodka www.reyka.com
San Luis Spirits http://drippingspringsvodka.com
Skinnygirl Bare Naked Vodka www.skinnygirlcocktails.com
Skinnygirl Cucumber Vodka www.skinnygirlcocktails.com
Skinnygirl Island Coconut Vodka www.skinnygirlcocktails.com
Skinnygirl Tangerine Vodka www.skinnygirlcocktails.com
Skyy Vodka www.skyy.com
Smirnoff Fluffed Marshmallow www.smirnoff.com
  Smirnoff Twist Black Cherry www.smirnoff.com
  Smirnoff Twist Citrus www.smirnoff.com
  Smirnoff Twist Cranberry www.smirnoff.com
  Smirnoff Twist Green Apple www.smirnoff.com
  Smirnoff Twist Lime www.smirnoff.com
  Smirnoff Twist Orange www.smirnoff.com
  Smirnoff Twist Raspberry www.smirnoff.com
  Smirnoff Twist Strawberry & Vanilla www.smirnoff.com
  Smirnoff Twisted V Cranberry www.smirnoff.com
  Smirnoff Twisted V Green Apple www.smirnoff.com
  Smirnoff Twisted V Mandarin orange www.smirnoff.com
  Smirnoff Twisted V Raspberry www.smirnoff.com
  Smirnoff Vodka (Black) www.smirnoff.com
  Smirnoff Vodka (Blue) www.smirnoff.com
  Smirnoff Vodka (Red) www.smirnoff.com
  Stolichnaya Vodka www.stoli.com
  TRU Organic Vodka www.modernspiritsgroup.com
  Tamborine Mountain Pertzovka (Pepper Vodka) www.tamborinemountaindistillery.com
  Tamborine Mountain Vodka Australian Native Peppermint www.tamborinemountaindistillery.com
  Tamborine Mountain Vodka Caramel www.tamborinemountaindistillery.com
  Tamborine Mountain Vodka Eucalyptus Gum Leaf www.tamborinemountaindistillery.com
  Tamborine Mountain Vodka Ginger www.tamborinemountaindistillery.com
  Tamborine Mountain Vodka Lemon Myrtle Leaf www.tamborinemountaindistillery.com
  Tamborine Mountain Vodka Neutral www.tamborinemountaindistillery.com
  Tamborine Mountain Vodka Wild Citrus www.tamborinemountaindistillery.com
  The Fruit Lab Liqueurs www.modernspiritsgroup.com
  Three Olives Vodka www.whiterockdistilleries.com
  Tito’s Handmade Vodka www.titosvodka.com
  UV Vodka (except coconut) http://www.phillipsdistilling.com
  Ultimate Vodka www.patronspirits.com
  Van Gogh Imports http://vangoghvodka.com/index.html
  VeeV Açai Spirit http://www.veevlife.com
  VeeV VitaFrute Organic Cosmopolitan http://www.veevlife.com
  VeeV VitaFrute Organic Lemonade http://www.veevlife.com
  VeeV VitaFrute Organic Margarita http://www.veevlife.com
  Vladivar Vodka http://www.vladivar.com/
  Vodka Cruisers www.independentdistillers.com
  Vodkat http://www.icbrands.co.uk/
  WKD Vodka Blue http://www.wkd.co.uk/
  WKD Vodka Iron Brew http://www.wkd.co.uk/
  WKD Vodka Purple http://www.wkd.co.uk/
  WKD Vodka Red http://www.wkd.co.uk/
  Watershed Vodka www.watersheddistillery.com
  Zodiac Vodka http://www.zodiacspirits.com/
Whiskey (512) Whiskey Barrel Aged Double Pecan Porter www.512brewing.com
  2 Gingers Irish Whiskey www.2gingerswhiskey.com
  Agua Luca www.heavenhill.com
  Amarito www.heavenhill.com
  Arandas www.heavenhill.com
  Aristocrat www.heavenhill.com
  Baker’s Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey www.beamglobal.com
  Basil Hayden’s Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey www.beamglobal.com
  Basilica www.heavenhill.com
  Bernheim Wheat Whiskey www.heavenhill.com
  Black Velvet Whisky www.cbrands.com
  Booker’s Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey www.beamglobal.com
  Canadian Club Whisky www.beamglobal.com
  Connemara Whiskey www.connemarawhiskey.com
  Early Times Kentucky Whisky www.earlytimes.com
  Fireball Whisky www.buffalotrace.com
  Forty Creek Whisky http://fortycreekwhisky.com
  George A Dickel Co Tennessee Whiskey www.dickel.com
  Georgia Moon Corn Whiskey www.heavenhill.com
  Glen Grant Single Malt Scotch Whiskey www.glengrant.com
  Glenlivet Whiskey www.pernod-ricard.com
  Harwood Canadian Whiskey www.heavenhill.com
  High West Whiskey www.highwest.com
  Jameson Irish Whiskey www.jamesonwhiskey.com
  Knob Creek Straight Bourbon Whiskey www.beamglobal.com
  Laphroaig 10 year old www.laphroaig.com
  Laphroaig 18 year old www.laphroaig.com
  Laphroaig 25 year old www.laphroaig.com
  Laphroaig Cask Strength www.laphroaig.com
  Laphroaig Px cask www.laphroaig.com
  Laphroaig Quarter cask www.laphroaig.com
  Laphroaid Triple wood www.laphroaig.com
  Powers Irish Whiskey www.jamesonwhiskey.com
  Sazerac Rye Whiskey www.buffalotrace.com
  Stranahan’s Colorado Whiskey www.proxmiospirits.com
  Talisker Distillery (Single Malt Scotch Whiskey) http://www.malts.com
  The Bitter Truth Rye Whiskey www.the-bitter-truth.com
  Tullamore Dew Irish Whiskey www.hendricksgin.com
  Whisky DYC www.beamglobal.com
  Whyte and Mackay Blended Whiskey www.whyteandmackay.com

*Please note that there is an even MORE comprehensive list of vegan-friendly alcohol at Barnivore.com. Check them out at http://www.barnivore.com/#!

 

Comments

comments

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,